Books for Women’s History Month

By Luis Diaz | March 5 2021 | General

March is Women’s History Month, which recognizes the specific achievements women have made over the course of American history in a variety of fields. Beginning as “Women’s History Week,” a local celebration in Santa Rosa, California in 1978, the movement spread across the country as other communities initiated their own Women’s History Week celebrations the following year. To learn more, click here.

We’d like to take the opportunity to highlight a selection of titles on extraordinary women to be shared with and read by your students all year long.

 

Who Is Kamala Harris?

The inspiring story of Vice President Kamala Harris told in the new Who HQ Now format for trending topics.

 

Just Like Me

A collection of poetry filled with engaging mini-stories about girls of all kinds: girls who feel happy, sad, scared, powerful; girls who love their bodies and girls who don’t; country girls, city girls; girls who love their mother and girls who wish they had a father. With bright portraits of vibrant colors and unique patterns and fabrics, this book invites readers to find themselves and each other within its pages.

 

Molly, by Golly!

Here is the story of Molly Williams, an African American cook for New York City’s Fire Company 11 who is considered to be the first known female firefighter in U.S. history.

 

No Voice Too Small

From Viridiana Sanchez Santos’s quinceañera demonstration against anti-immigrant policy to Zach Wahls’s moving declaration that his two moms and he were a family like any other, No Voice Too Small celebrates the young people who know how to be the change they seek. Fourteen poems honor these young activists.

 

Raise Your Hand

When Alice Tapper noticed that the girls in her class weren’t participating as much as the boys, she knew she had to do something about it. With help from her Girl Scout troop and her parents, she came up with a patch that other girls could earn if they took a pledge to be more confident in school.

 

Brave. Black. First.

Published in collaboration with the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture, discover over fifty remarkable African American women whose unique skills and contributions paved the way for the next generation of young people.

 

Kate’s Light

Kate’s Light shares the exciting true story of Katherine Walker and her long, heroic career as one of the first woman lighthouse keepers on the Eastern Seaboard.


Discover more titles

Women’s History Month Titles for Elementary School Students


 


Just Like Me
978-0-525-58209-0
An ode to the girl with scrapes on her knees and flowers in her hair, and every girl in between, this exquisite treasury will appeal to readers of Dear Girl and I Am Enough and have kids poring over it to find a poem that's just for them.
$17.99 US
Jan 14, 2020
Hardcover
32 Pages
Knopf Books for Young Readers
Preschool - 3

Molly, by Golly!
The Legend of Molly Williams, America's First Female Firefighter
978-1-59078-721-2
Here is the story of Molly Williams, an African American cook for New York City's Fire Company 11 who is considered to be the first known female firefighter in U.S. history.New York City’s Fire Company Number 11 is in trouble. A deadly snowstorm is blowing, and many of the volunteers are sick in bed. When the fire alarm sounds, who will answer the call? Who will save the neighborhood? Molly Williams, the company’s cook, for one! Clapping a weathered leather helmet on her head, strapping spatterdashes over her woolen leggings, and pulling on heavy work gloves —it’s Molly, by golly, to the rescue. Young readers will enjoy plucky Molly Williams’s legendary adventure as they learn how fires were fought in the early 1800s.
$17.99 US
Sep 01, 2012
Hardcover
32 Pages
Calkins Creek
Grades 2-5

No Voice Too Small
Fourteen Young Americans Making History
978-1-62354-131-6
Fans of We Rise, We Resist, We Raise Our Voices will love meeting fourteen young activists who have stepped up to make change in their community and the United States.
$18.99 US
Sep 22, 2020
Hardcover
40 Pages
Charlesbridge
Grades K-4

Raise Your Hand
978-1-5247-9120-9
Instant New York Times Bestseller! 11-year-old Alice Paul Tapper--daughter of CNN's Jake Tapper--is challenging girls everywhere to speak up!
$17.99 US
Mar 26, 2019
Hardcover
32 Pages
Penguin Workshop
Preschool - 3

Brave. Black. First.
50+ African American Women Who Changed the World
978-0-525-64581-8
Published in collaboration with the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture, discover over fifty remarkable African American women whose unique skills and contributions paved the way for the next generation of young people. Perfect for fans of Rad Women Worldwide, Women in Science, and Girls Think of Everything.
$18.99 US
Jan 07, 2020
Hardcover
128 Pages
Crown Books for Young Readers
Grades 3-7

Kate's Light
Kate Walker at Robbins Reef Lighthouse
978-0-8234-4348-2
Illustrated by a Caldecott Medalist, Kate's Light shares the exciting true story of Katherine Walker and her long, heroic career as one of the first woman lighthouse keepers on the Eastern Seaboard.
$18.99 US
Jan 12, 2021
Hardcover
40 Pages
Margaret Ferguson Books
Grades 1-3