Books for Summer Reading

By Kaitlyn Spotts | February 22 2023 | General

Reading over the summer months helps students foster a love for independent reading and keeps their literacy skills strong. We’ve curated a collection of fiction and nonfiction books including inspiring life stories, action-packed adventures, graphic novels, and more to give students the opportunity to recharge after a busy school year and read for fun.

 

Browse our elementary, middle, and high school summer reading lists!

Shirley and Jamila Save Their Summer
978-0-525-55286-4
This middle-grade graphic novel for fans of Roller Girl and Smile introduces Jamila and Shirley, two unlikely friends who save each other's summers while solving their neighborhood's biggest mysteries.
$13.99 US
Jul 14, 2020
Paperback
224 Pages
Dial Books

What's Inside A Flower?
And Other Questions About Science & Nature
978-0-593-17648-1
From the creator of the New York Times bestseller Women in Science, comes a nonfiction picture book series ready to grow young scientists by nurturing their curiosity about the natural world--starting with what's inside a flower.
$8.99 US
Feb 14, 2023
Paperback
48 Pages
Dragonfly Books

Catch a Crayfish, Count the Stars
Fun Projects, Skills, and Adventures for Outdoor Kids
978-0-593-44897-7
A hands-on, gloves-off, muddy boots activity book for young adventurers ages 8 and up, offering fun projects and adventures to build lifelong skills and knowledge about the natural world—from the host of MeatEater and New York Times bestselling author of The MeatEater Guide to Wilderness Skills and Survival
$26.99 US
Jun 13, 2023
Hardcover
368 Pages
Random House

Fanatical About Frogs
978-1-83874-871-5
Did you know that there are over 4,000 known species of frog? Some are bigger than your dinner plate, while others are small enough to sit on your fingernail.
$12.99 US
May 02, 2023
Paperback
40 Pages
Flying Eye Books

The Highlights Book of Things to Do Outdoors
Explore, Unearth, and Build Great Things Outside
978-1-64472-928-1
Get ready to explore—the sky’s the limit on outdoor adventure! Companion to the best-selling Highlights Book of Things to Do, the Highlights Book of Things to Do Outdoors features 160 captivating and activity-packed pages. Kids 7 and up will discover all kinds of ways to build, experiment, craft and help protect the planet, plus answers to countless nature-related questions.
$14.99 US
Apr 25, 2023
Paperback
160 Pages
Highlights Press

She Persisted: Wilma Mankiller
978-0-593-40305-1
Inspired by the #1 New York Times bestseller She Persisted by Chelsea Clinton and Alexandra Boiger comes a chapter book series about women who spoke up and rose up against the odds--including Wilma Mankiller!A 2024 American Indian Youth Literature Honor Book!
$5.99 US
Oct 04, 2022
Paperback
80 Pages
Philomel Books

Mr. Lemoncello's Very First Game
978-0-593-48085-4
Before Mr. Lemoncello became everyone's favorite game maker, he was a kid who liked to roll the dice. . . . Discover the origins of what James Patterson calls "the coolest library in the world" in this PREQUEL to the New York Times bestselling Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library.
$8.99 US
Apr 25, 2023
Paperback
304 Pages
Yearling