I Don't Want to Be a Frog

Author Dev Petty
Illustrated by Mike Boldt
Look inside

The hit book about a willful young frog with a serious identity crisis and his heard-it-all-before father is now available in paperback. Perfect for fans of Mo Willems’s Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus! and Jon Klassen’s I Want My Hat Back!

Frog wants to be anything but a slimy, wet frog. A cat, perhaps. Or a rabbit. An owl? But when a hungry wolf arrives—a wolf who HATES eating frogs—our hero decides that being himself isn’t so bad after all. In this very silly story with a sly message, told in hilarious dialogue between a feisty young frog and his heard-it-all-before father, young readers will identify with little Frog’s desire to be something different, while laughing along at his stubborn yet endearing schemes to prove himself right.

And look for the hilarious sequels—I Don't Want to Be Big, There's Nothing to Do!, and I Don't Want to Go to Sleep.

★ "First-time author Petty’s dialogue between a frog father and his son makes its point about accepting one’s nature with a big grin. . . . The story might create similar gratitude in the minds of readers—or it might just make them giggle."—Publishers WeeklySTARRED REVIEW

"A lively look at self-acceptance."—Kirkus

"This amusing story ends with a laugh and a much more content frog."—School Library Journal

"Silliness and deadpan humor combine into a hopping good story of being happy with who you are."—Booklist

"A paean to self-acceptance wrapped in snappy dialogue and illustrated with richly colored comic paintings."—Wall Street Journal

"Petty and Boldt provide just enough predictability to hook youngest readers, then deliver a delightful twist or two to create surprise and satisfaction—for both the green hero and the many fans he'll make with this book."—Shelf Awareness

"This lighthearted exploration of identity will delight as a readaloud."—The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

DEV PETTY is the author of many books for kids, including I Don’t Want to Be a Frog, Don't Eat Bees, Don't Trust Cats, and Elmore the Christmas Moose. She lives in Berkeley, California, with her husband, daughters, dogs, a snake named Boots, and two cats. Visit Dev online at devpetty.com and on Twitter at @devpetty. View titles by Dev Petty
MIKE BOLDT is a New York Times bestselling children's book creator who lives in Alberta, Canada, with his wife, three children, a dog, and a few cats. His books include I Don’t Want to Be a Frog, Elmore the Christmas Moose, Don't Eat Bees, Don't Trust Cats, Find Fergus, Bad Dog, and the New York Times bestseller Just One Bite by Camila Alves McConaughey and Adam Mansbach. Follow Mike on Twitter at @MikeBoldt and on Instagram at @thatmikeboldt, and learn more about Mike at mikeboldt.ca. View titles by Mike Boldt

Discussion Guide for I Don't Want to Be a Frog

Provides questions, discussion topics, suggested reading lists, introductions and/or author Q&As, which are intended to enhance reading groups’ experiences.

(Please note: the guide displayed here is the most recently uploaded version; while unlikely, any page citation discrepancies between the guide and book is likely due to pagination differences between a book’s different formats.)

  • NOMINEE | 2018
    California Young Reader Medal
  • NOMINEE | 2017
    Washington Children's Choice Picture Book Award
  • NOMINEE | 2017
    Colorado Children's Book Award
  • NOMINEE | 2017
    Georgia Children's Book Award
  • NOMINEE | 2016
    Pennsylvania Young Reader's Choice Award
  • NOMINEE | 2015
    Wyoming Buckaroo Award
★ "First-time author Petty’s dialogue between a frog father and his son makes its point about accepting one’s nature with a big grin. . . . The story might create similar gratitude in the minds of readers—or it might just make them giggle."—Publishers WeeklySTARRED REVIEW

"A lively look at self-acceptance."—Kirkus Reviews

"This amusing story ends with a laugh and a much more content frog."—School Library Journal

"Silliness and deadpan humor combine into a hopping good story of being happy with who you are."—Booklist

"A paean to self-acceptance wrapped in snappy dialogue and illustrated with richly colored comic paintings."—Wall Street Journal

"Petty and Boldt provide just enough predictability to hook youngest readers, then deliver a delightful twist or two to create surprise and satisfaction—for both the green hero and the many fans he'll make with this book."—Shelf Awareness

"This lighthearted exploration of identity will delight as a readaloud."—The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

Watch the I Don't Want To Be a Frog book trailer!

About

The hit book about a willful young frog with a serious identity crisis and his heard-it-all-before father is now available in paperback. Perfect for fans of Mo Willems’s Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus! and Jon Klassen’s I Want My Hat Back!

Frog wants to be anything but a slimy, wet frog. A cat, perhaps. Or a rabbit. An owl? But when a hungry wolf arrives—a wolf who HATES eating frogs—our hero decides that being himself isn’t so bad after all. In this very silly story with a sly message, told in hilarious dialogue between a feisty young frog and his heard-it-all-before father, young readers will identify with little Frog’s desire to be something different, while laughing along at his stubborn yet endearing schemes to prove himself right.

And look for the hilarious sequels—I Don't Want to Be Big, There's Nothing to Do!, and I Don't Want to Go to Sleep.

★ "First-time author Petty’s dialogue between a frog father and his son makes its point about accepting one’s nature with a big grin. . . . The story might create similar gratitude in the minds of readers—or it might just make them giggle."—Publishers WeeklySTARRED REVIEW

"A lively look at self-acceptance."—Kirkus

"This amusing story ends with a laugh and a much more content frog."—School Library Journal

"Silliness and deadpan humor combine into a hopping good story of being happy with who you are."—Booklist

"A paean to self-acceptance wrapped in snappy dialogue and illustrated with richly colored comic paintings."—Wall Street Journal

"Petty and Boldt provide just enough predictability to hook youngest readers, then deliver a delightful twist or two to create surprise and satisfaction—for both the green hero and the many fans he'll make with this book."—Shelf Awareness

"This lighthearted exploration of identity will delight as a readaloud."—The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

Author

DEV PETTY is the author of many books for kids, including I Don’t Want to Be a Frog, Don't Eat Bees, Don't Trust Cats, and Elmore the Christmas Moose. She lives in Berkeley, California, with her husband, daughters, dogs, a snake named Boots, and two cats. Visit Dev online at devpetty.com and on Twitter at @devpetty. View titles by Dev Petty
MIKE BOLDT is a New York Times bestselling children's book creator who lives in Alberta, Canada, with his wife, three children, a dog, and a few cats. His books include I Don’t Want to Be a Frog, Elmore the Christmas Moose, Don't Eat Bees, Don't Trust Cats, Find Fergus, Bad Dog, and the New York Times bestseller Just One Bite by Camila Alves McConaughey and Adam Mansbach. Follow Mike on Twitter at @MikeBoldt and on Instagram at @thatmikeboldt, and learn more about Mike at mikeboldt.ca. View titles by Mike Boldt

Guides

Discussion Guide for I Don't Want to Be a Frog

Provides questions, discussion topics, suggested reading lists, introductions and/or author Q&As, which are intended to enhance reading groups’ experiences.

(Please note: the guide displayed here is the most recently uploaded version; while unlikely, any page citation discrepancies between the guide and book is likely due to pagination differences between a book’s different formats.)

Awards

  • NOMINEE | 2018
    California Young Reader Medal
  • NOMINEE | 2017
    Washington Children's Choice Picture Book Award
  • NOMINEE | 2017
    Colorado Children's Book Award
  • NOMINEE | 2017
    Georgia Children's Book Award
  • NOMINEE | 2016
    Pennsylvania Young Reader's Choice Award
  • NOMINEE | 2015
    Wyoming Buckaroo Award

Praise

★ "First-time author Petty’s dialogue between a frog father and his son makes its point about accepting one’s nature with a big grin. . . . The story might create similar gratitude in the minds of readers—or it might just make them giggle."—Publishers WeeklySTARRED REVIEW

"A lively look at self-acceptance."—Kirkus Reviews

"This amusing story ends with a laugh and a much more content frog."—School Library Journal

"Silliness and deadpan humor combine into a hopping good story of being happy with who you are."—Booklist

"A paean to self-acceptance wrapped in snappy dialogue and illustrated with richly colored comic paintings."—Wall Street Journal

"Petty and Boldt provide just enough predictability to hook youngest readers, then deliver a delightful twist or two to create surprise and satisfaction—for both the green hero and the many fans he'll make with this book."—Shelf Awareness

"This lighthearted exploration of identity will delight as a readaloud."—The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

Media

Watch the I Don't Want To Be a Frog book trailer!

2024 Elementary School Collection

The Penguin Random House Education Elementary School Collection features outstanding fiction, nonfiction, and picture books from Penguin Young Reader’s, Random House Children’s, DK, and Grupo Editorial, as well as children’s publishers distributed by Penguin Random House. Explore online or download this valuable resource to discover great books in specific topic areas such as: Leveled Readers,

Read more

DK Learning Phonic Books Sampler Request

Thank you for your interest in DK Learning | Phonic Books. To download the DK Learning | Phonic Books sampler with four complete readers, please click here and complete the form. Once your information is successfully submitted, a link to download the sampler will be provided on the confirmation screen.   Click here to learn

Read more

PRH Education Translanguaging Collections

Translanguaging is a communicative practice of bilinguals and multilinguals, that is, it is a practice whereby bilinguals and multilinguals use their entire linguistic repertoire to communicate and make meaning (García, 2009; García, Ibarra Johnson, & Seltzer, 2017)   It is through that lens that we have partnered with teacher educators and bilingual education experts, Drs.

Read more

PRH Education Classroom Libraries

“Books are a students’ passport to entering and actively participating in a global society with the empathy, compassion, and knowledge it takes to become the problem solvers the world needs.” –Laura Robb   Research shows that reading and literacy directly impacts students’ academic success and personal growth. To help promote the importance of daily independent

Read more