Books for Black History Month

By Luis Diaz | February 22 2021 | General

Black History Month is an annual celebration of achievements by African Americans and a time for recognizing their central role in U.S. history. Also known as African American History Month, the event grew out of “Negro History Week,” the brainchild of noted historian Carter G. Woodson and other prominent African Americans. Find more on the history of Black History Month here.

Here’s a selection of titles that we think would be great to share with elementary students:

 

I Am Smart, I Am Blessed, I Can Do Anything!

Based on a viral video comes the story of one boy’s positive energy and how a sunny outlook can turn everything around.

 

Isaiah Dunn Is My Hero

A coming-of-age tale about a boy who discovers a love of poetry after finding his late father’s journal. Adapted from a story that first appeared in Flying Lessons & Other Stories.

 

Finding Langston

When eleven-year-old Langston’s father moves them from their home in Alabama to Chicago’s Bronzeville district, it feels like he’s giving up everything he loves.

 

My Rainbow

A dedicated mom puts love into action as she creates the perfect rainbow-colored wig for her transgender daughter, based on the real-life experience of mother-daughter advocate duo Trinity and DeShanna Neal.

 

The Stars Beneath Our Feet

A boy tries to steer a safe path through the projects in Harlem in the wake of his brother’s death in this outstanding debut novel that celebrates community and creativity.

 

Auma’s Long Run

A track scholarship could put thirteen-year-old Auma one step closer to leaving her small village in Kenya. She is determined to become a doctor, and nothing-not her classmates, not her marrying age, and not the night runners who come by the house while she sleeps-will stop her.

 

Superheroes Are Everywhere

From Vice President Kamala Harris comes a picture book with an empowering message: Superheroes are all around us-and if we try, we can all be heroes too.

 

Just Like Me

A collection of poetry filled with engaging mini-stories about girls of all kinds: girls who feel happy, sad, scared, powerful; girls who love their bodies and girls who don’t; country girls, city girls; girls who love their mother and girls who wish they had a father. With bright portraits of vibrant colors and unique patterns and fabrics, this book invites readers to find themselves and each other within its pages.

 

The Wedding Portrait

he Wedding Portrait is an essential book for kids about standing up for what’s right. Here are stories of direct action from around the world that are bookended by the author’s wedding story.

 


Discover more titles

Black History Month Titles for Elementary Students


 

#AmplifyBlackStories

 

Join us as we #AmplifyBlackStories all year long! Celebrate Black authors, leaders, creators, and more who have forged a path for themselves and others. Share the Black stories you love and discover books that can transform your world.

 

Penguin Random House is excited to partner with We Need Diverse Books (WNDB) as the inaugural sponsor of the Black Creatives Fund, which will focus on amplifying the work of Black creatives who have written books and are seeking publication. We are also partnering with WNDB on our 28th annual Creative Writing Awards to support young writers across the country from underrepresented backgrounds.

 

Learn more about #AmplifyBlackStories here.

I Am Smart, I Am Blessed, I Can Do Anything!

Isaiah Dunn Is My Hero
978-0-593-12136-8
A coming-of-age tale about a boy who discovers a love of poetry after finding his late father's journal. Adapted from a story that first appeared in Flying Lessons & Other Stories and perfect for fans of The Parker Inheritance by Varian Johnson.
$16.99 US
Aug 18, 2020
Hardcover
208 Pages
Crown Books for Young Readers

Finding Langston
978-0-8234-4582-0
A Coretta Scott King Author Honor Book Winner of the Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction When eleven-year-old Langston's father moves them from their home in Alabama to Chicago's Bronzeville district, it feels like he's giving up everything he loves.
$7.99 US
Jan 07, 2020
Paperback
112 Pages
Holiday House

My Rainbow
978-1-9848-1460-9
A dedicated mom puts love into action as she creates the perfect rainbow-colored wig for her transgender daughter, based on the real-life experience of mother-daughter advocate duo Trinity and DeShanna Neal.
$17.99 US
Oct 20, 2020
Hardcover
32 Pages
Kokila

The Stars Beneath Our Feet
978-1-5247-0124-6
An outstanding debut novel about a boy trying to steer a safe path through the projects in Harlem in the wake of his brother's death. A celebration of home the healing power of art.
$17.99 US
Sep 19, 2017
Hardcover
304 Pages
Knopf Books for Young Readers

Auma's Long Run
978-0-8234-4565-3
Auma is racing toward her dreams as fast as possible--but can she turn her back on her family when tragedy hits home? This acclaimed debut set in 1980s Kenya is a poignant story of loss, grief, and the power of resilience.
$9.99 US
Sep 01, 2020
Paperback
304 Pages
Holiday House

Superheroes Are Everywhere
978-1-9848-3749-3
From Senator Kamala Harris comes a picture book with an empowering message: Superheroes are all around us--and if we try, we can all be heroes too.
$17.99 US
Jan 08, 2019
Hardcover
40 Pages
Philomel Books

Just Like Me
978-0-525-58209-0
An ode to the girl with scrapes on her knees and flowers in her hair, and every girl in between, this exquisite treasury will appeal to readers of Dear Girl and I Am Enough and have kids poring over it to find a poem that's just for them.
$17.99 US
Jan 14, 2020
Hardcover
32 Pages
Knopf Books for Young Readers

The Wedding Portrait
978-1-60980-802-0
From the bestselling author of A is for Activist comes an essential book for kids about direct action and when it's OK to break the rules.
$17.95 US
Oct 17, 2017
Hardcover
36 Pages
Triangle Square